2010 Formula One Calendar Announced

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) today announced the calendar for the 2010 Formula One Championship. As expected, the schedule for the upcoming season includes several changes as compared to the ongoing one, the most important of which would be, no doubt about it, the return of Canada in F1.

Unlike this year, the 2010 F1 calendar will be comprised of 19 rounds, on the condition the North American officials will eventually come to an agreement with F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone. According to the FIA, the race at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve is currently “subject to the completion of contract negotiations with Formula One Management. If these are not completed then the Turkish Grand Prix will be moved to 6 June.”

In addition, the race times for the Australian, Malaysian, Singapore and Abu Dhabi races will be set as followed:

The race in Australia will start at 1700 local time, in Malaysia at 1600 local time, in Singapore at 2000 local time, and in Abu Dhabi at 1700 local time,” said the press release from the FIA.

Korea will also make its debut in Formula One next year, in October, while the season finale will once again return to Brazil. The last rounds of the 2010 season will take place at Interlagos, in mid-November.

Here is the 2010 F1 calendar, according to the FIA:

14/03 -  Bahrain
28/03 - Australia
04/04 - Malaysia
18/04 - China
09/05 - Spain
23/05 - Monaco
30/05 - Turkey
13/06 - Canada
27/06 - Europe (Valencia)
11/07 - Great Britain
25/07 - Germany
01/08 - Hungary
29/08 - Belgium
12/09 - Italy
26/09 - Singapore
03/10 - Japan
17/10 - Korea
31/10 - Abu Dhabi
14/11 - Brazil


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories