2010 AMA Hall of Fame Final Member: Bruce Ogilvie

The ninth and last member to join the Class of 2010 is desert racer and team manager Bruce Ogilvie. The multiple Baja winner and manager of American Honda's off-road championship, along with the other eight members will be inducted to the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame on November 19 in Las Vegas.

Unfortunately, Ogilvie passed away on April 13, 2009, following an extended illness.

"So few excel at the highest levels of both competition and management, and Bruce Ogilvie was one of the greatest ever in both arenas," said Jack Penton, AMA director of operations, chairman of the Hall of Fame Off-Road committee and a Hall of Famer himself. "Bruce's selfless nature, unique leadership abilities, incredible skill on a motorcycle and seemingly limitless knowledge regarding motorcycle development made him not only an asset to his employer, American Honda, but to the motorcycling community as a whole."

Ogilvie joins previously announced members of the AMA Hall of Fame Class of 2010, namely championship team owner Mitch Payton, AMA 250cc Roadrace Champion David Emde, off-road rights activist Clark Collins, dirt-track racer Don Castro, off-road gear pioneers John and Rita Gregory, sidecar roadrace champion Larry Coleman and legendary two-stroke engine tuner Eyvind Boyesen.

"It would mean so much to him to be here to experience his induction into the Hall of Fame," Marcia Ogilvie, his wife said in a release. "Because Bruce was so reserved, you couldn't always tell if he realized how much he meant to other people, but there are thousands who know what he did for motorcycling, from those he may have just given advice to at a race, to industry leaders. To be honored for what he loved most, well, he would be really happy to know that what he did meant so much to so many."
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories