JEEP Wrangler Series/Models Timeline, Specifications and Pictures

Generations: 6
First production year: 1987
Engines: Hybrid gasoline, Gasoline, Diesel
Body style: SUV (Sports Utility Vehicle)

2021 - Present

While it wasn't the first hybrid 4x4 vehicle on the market, the 2021 Wrangler 4xe (spelled four-by-e) promised actual off-road performance and high fuel efficiency. Jeep continued the Wrangler saga, and, despite being offered a choice of diesel and gasoline engines, it managed to implement a plug-in hybrid system for the well-known off-road vehicle. The most challenging part was to keep ...

full description and technical specifications
hybrid gasoline engines:

  JEEP Wrangler 4xe 2.0L PHEV 8AT (380 HP)

2018 - Present

A redesigned 3-door Jeep Wrangler was introduced for 2018, also offered in the top Rubicon variant. Its styling stays true to the original, while coming with advanced fuel-efficient powertrains, more open-air options, and is loaded with more safety features and advanced technology than ever before. The all-new Jeep Wrangler's unique design includes an instantly recognizable keystone-shaped ...

full description and technical specifications
gasoline engines:

  JEEP Wrangler Rubicon 3.6 V6 6MT (285 HP)

  JEEP Wrangler Rubicon 3.6 V6 8AT (285 HP)

2006 - 2018

The JK generation of the Wrangler might be called the third generation of the rugged Jeep model, but it actually carried over the principle and the name of the WWII Willy's, through the CJ (civilian Jeep) models. In 2006, the Wrangler came, for the first time, with a four-door version. The 2007 model was launched in 2006 after a deep and focused effort from DaimlerChrysler that asked the...

full description and technical specifications
diesel engines:

  JEEP Wrangler 2.8L CRD 5AT (177 HP)

  JEEP Wrangler 2.8L CRD 6MT (177 HP)driven: read

2006 - 2018

Jeep introduced a new generation of its already famous Wrangler lineup in 2006, and the world expected big changes on this model. And they were. Developed during the DaimlerChrysler association, the Wrangler JK came in three main trim levels: Wrangler X, Sahara, and Rubicon. The latter became a true off-road gladiator fighting with the mighty Mercedes-Benz G-Class and beating it at its own ga...

full description and technical specifications

1996 - 2006

Jeep made an essential upgrade on the Wrangler's second generation, also known as TJ, in 1996 when it introduced it on the market as a 1997 model. When Chrysler bought the AMC in 1987, it didn't exactly know what to do with the Jeep Wrangler and left it with squared headlights, which Jeep fans disliked. Nine years later, the prominent American carmaker already knew what to change an...

full description and technical specifications

1987 - 1996

Replacing the open-body veteran CJ, the new Wrangler was the most rugged Jeep with enhanced convenience inside. The Wrangler shared the steering, the brakes, the axles, the manual transmission, the clutch and the transfer case with the Cherokee and the Wagoner. Also called the YJ, the Wrangler was pretty similar in design with the CJ, however, it featured square headlights and had a lower ...

full description and technical specifications